9th Communications Squadron


Connect, integrate, and defend global reconnaissance and combat power through cyberspace.


The premier communications squadron for the nation's top intelligence capabilities.


Activated on 1 May 1949 as the 9th Communications Squadron, Strategic Reconnaissance. The 9th Communications Squadron provides cyberspace operations and maintenance to the Department of Defense and Air Force Information Networks to defend against nefarious cyber activities. Additionally, the 9th CS provides communications and information systems and services to customers assigned to the 9th Reconnaissance Wing, 940th Wing and associated units.  Finally, the 9th CS plans and provides life-cycle management for installation network infrastructure, command and control systems, telephones, radios, and additional specialized weapons systems.

The disc, in ultramarine blue, represents the sky as a medium for communications and as the primary theater for the Air Force. The yellow band with four black crosses emphasizes the 9th Communication Squadron's ties to the 9th Reconnaissance Wing. The lightning bolts surrounding the Greek letter Sigma represents the summation of the many diverse communications systems originating from our squadron and branching out to encompass the entire wing. The red and silver signify the strength we need to accomplish the mission and our faith in our abilities to do so.

Air Force Outstanding Unit Award:

1 June 1973 to 31 May 1975
1 June 1974 to 31 May 1976
1 June 1976 to 31 May 1978
1 June 1993 to 31 May 1994
1 June 1994 to 31 May 1995
1 June 1996 to 31 May 1998
1 June 1998 to 31 May 2000
1 June 2000 to 31 May 2002
1 June 2002 to 31 May 2004
1 June 2005 to 31 May 2007
1 June 2007 to 31 May 2009
1 June 2009 to 31 May 2012

1 June 2014 to 31 May 2015


Air Force Meritorious Unit Award


1 June 2009 to 31 May 2011

1 June 2013 to 31 May 2014


Point of Contact
9 CS, 6252 B St., Beale AFB, CA 95903; telephone: (530) 634-2666, DSN 634-2666. Normal business hours are Monday through Friday 7:30 am to 4:30 pm.