Beale Air Force Base   Right Corner Banner
Join the Air Force

Library > Fact Sheets > 9th Operations Group


Posted 11/12/2010 Printable Fact Sheet

The 9th Operations Group includes the squadrons tasked to execute the 9th Reconnaissance Wing's operational mission. The group has six squadrons totaling more than 500 personnel. It is responsible as the Department of Defense's single-point manager for the U-2 Dragon Lady and RQ-4 Global Hawk high-altitude reconnaissance fleets. It organizes, trains and equips U-2 and RQ-4 combat elements for worldwide employment to include peacetime intelligence gathering, contingency operations, conventional war fighting and Emergency War Order support.

The 9th Operations Group consists of the following squadrons: the 1st Reconnaissance Squadron, the 12th Reconnaissance Squadron, the 18th Reconnaissance Squadron, the 99th Reconnaissance Squadron, the 9th Operations Support Squadron and the 5th Reconnaissance Squadron (located at Osan Air Base, Korea, the 5th RS provides high-altitude reconnaissance in the U.S. PACOM area of responsibility to support national and theater collection requirements).

 Inside Beale AFB

ima cornerSearch

ima cornerOrganizations


Site Map      Contact Us     Questions     Security and Privacy notice     E-publishing  
Suicide Prevention    SAPR   IG   EEO   Accessibility/Section 508   No FEAR Act